Time Does What It Wants 

Time has a funny way of just…doing whatever the heck it wants. The other day my husband had to work five hours late and the minutes ticked by. Waiting for him to come home took an eternity. But that afternoon, before he was late, I got basically nothing done because time flew right past me. How is this possible? 

I’m sitting here looking at Sloan, and she looks like a giant to me. She’s only two months old but I can’t believe all the stuff we’ve been through together. She’s rolling over, growing a tooth, and has adamantly refused to continue sleeping through the night. But wasn’t I just holding her for the first time in the hospital? And for that matter, wasn’t I just finding out I’m pregnant? Time is flying.

But. At the same time I’ve been trying to put this baby to bed for an hour now. I’m tired of not sleeping, of holding her all the time and I can’t wait for her to start talking so I know what she needs. When will she grow!?

The days are long but the years are short.

Time does whatever it wants. I already know I’ll miss these nights, because right now I miss things I once couldn’t wait to end. The other day I was so sad because I missed being pregnant. So I’m trying to be present, to cling to every moment and make it last. Even the sleep deprived ones where I didn’t get enough time to do my hair. 

Leave a Reply

